Climate Northern Ireland Logo
Previous Month

2020

Previous Month
 

January

  
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22

What can your business do to reduce plastic waste?

Date:Thursday 23rd January
Venue: Northern Ireland Advanced Composites Engineering Centre, NIACE, Airport Road, Belfast BT3 9DZ
Cost:

24
25
26
27

High–level public conference on implementing the European Green Deal – the European Climate Law

Date:Tuesday 28th January
Venue: Charlemagne Conference Centre, Rue de la Loi 170, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Cost:

29

Adapting Historic Buildings for Climate Change

Date:Thursday 30th January
Venue: Riddel Hall, Queen’s University Belfast, 185 Stranmillis Road, Belfast BT9 5EE
Cost:

Energy and CleanTech Forum

Date:Thursday 30th January
Venue: Mountain View Innovation Centre, Jurby Road, IM7 2DZ Ramsey, Isle of Man
Cost:

31
 

February

     
01
02
03

International Conference on Forests for Biodiversity and Climate

Date:Tuesday 4th February
Venue: Charlemagne Building, European Commission. Brussels Belgium
Cost:

05

Belfast Resilience Strategy – Climate Conversation

Date:Thursday 6th February
Venue: Portview Trade Centre, 310 Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 1HE
Cost:

Covenant of Mayors webinar: ‘Financing adaptation actions’

Date:Thursday 6th February
Venue:
Cost:

07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14

Climate: Time to Change

Date:Saturday 15th February
Venue: School of Biological Sciences Building, 19 Chlorine Gardens, Belfast, BT9 5DL
Cost:

16

The climate emergency: Your questions answered

Date:Monday 17th February
Venue: Kings Place, London, N1 9AG
Cost: £20 plus £1.51 booking fee. Partners/Patrons save £5.26 (20% off and no fees)

Lost Landscapes and Climate Change

Date:Monday 17th February
Venue: Ulster Museum, Botanic Ct, Belfast, BT9 5AB
Cost:

The Climate Change Challenge

Date:Tuesday 18th February
Venue: GSNI Core Store Belfast, Belfast, BT3 9LP
Cost:

QUB Climate Change Conference

Date:Wednesday 19th February
Venue: QUB School of Biological Sciences 1–33 Chlorine Gardens Belfast BT9 5AJ
Cost: Free

20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

March

      
01
02
03
04
05

Planning for a Resilient Future

Date:Friday 6th March
Venue: Ulster University, York Street, Belfast BT15 1ED
Cost: £5 – £7

07
08

Urban Resilience in a context of Climate Change Conference

Date:Monday 9th March
Venue: Recinte Modernista de Sant Pau, Carrer de Sant Antoni Maria Claret, 167, 08025 Barcelona
Cost:

10

Climate Change: why facts are not enough

Date:Wednesday 11th March
Venue: Peter Froggatt Centre, 9 College Park East, Belfast BT7 1PS
Cost:

Climate Change – Our Challenge

Date:Thursday 12th March
Venue: Killeavy Castle Hotel and Spa
Cost:

13
14
15

Energy and CleanTech Forum

Date:Monday 16th March
Venue: Barrool Suite, Legislative Building, Finch Road, IM1 3PW Douglas, Isle of Man
Cost:

17
18

Climate Change Conference

Date:Thursday 19th March
Venue: QUB School of Biological Sciences, 1–33 Chlorine Gardens, Belfast BT9 5AJ
Cost:

20
21
22
23

Responding to Our Planetary Emergency: The Crucial Decade Ahead

Date:Tuesday 24th March
Venue: Peter Froggatt Lecture Theatre 02/025, Queen’s University Belfast, University Road, Belfast BT7 1NN
Cost:

The Climate Strikes and Public Activism: where do we go from here?

Date:Wednesday 25th March
Venue: St Mary’s University College Belfast, 191 Falls Road, Belfast BT12 6FE
Cost:

26
27

What did you do about it? A family event to discuss the climate crisis

Date:Saturday 28th March
Venue: Crescent Arts Centre, 2–4 University Road, Belfast BT7 1NH
Cost:

29
30
31
    

April

  
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21

Earth Day 2020

Date:Wednesday 22nd April
Venue:
Cost:

23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
  

May

    
01
02
03
04

Adapt Northern Heritage Virtual Conference 2020

Date:Tuesday 5th May
Venue: Online
Cost:

Webinar Series: Raising business ambition for 1.5°

Date:Wednesday 6th May
Venue: Online
Cost:

07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Climate–ADAPT Webinar: Exploring potential adaptation options for policy and decision–makers: The Climate–ADAPT Catalogue

Date:Monday 18th May
Venue: Online
Cost:

19

Indicators of changing climate risk in the UK

Date:Wednesday 20th May
Venue: Online
Cost:

21

Nature–based solutions for climate change: from ambition to action

Date:Friday 22nd May
Venue: Online
Cost:

23
24
25
26

European Urban Resilience Forum

Date:Wednesday 27th May
Venue: Online
Cost:

28
29
30
31
      

June

01
02

Daring Cities 2020

Date:Wednesday 3rd June
Venue: Bonn, Germany
Cost:

04
05
06
07
08
09

How will multiple climate hazards impact UK food over the 21st Century?

Date:Wednesday 10th June
Venue: Online
Cost:

11
12
13
14

The Paris Agreement on Climate Change as a Development Agenda

Date:Monday 15th June
Venue: Online
Cost:

16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23

FUTURE–DRAINAGE

Date:Wednesday 24th June
Venue: Online
Cost:

25
26
27
28
29
30
    

July

  
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

August

     
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
     

September

 
01
02

The Great Food Challenge

Date:Thursday 3rd September
Venue: Online
Cost:

04
05
06
07
08
09
10
11
12
13
14
15
16

The future for agricultural land use – productivity, environmental sustainability, and innovation

Date:Thursday 17th September
Venue: Online
Cost:

Financing place–based climate action – how to deliver a green and just recovery from Covid–19

Date:Friday 18th September
Venue: Online
Cost:

19
20

Community Based Adaptation to Climate Change

Date:Monday 21st September
Venue: Online
Cost: See details via the link

22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

Net Zero Festival

Date:Wednesday 30th September
Venue: London
Cost: £499

   

October

   

Carbon Trust– Financing a Resilient Future: Target Setting for Climate and Nature

Date:Thursday 1st October
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

02
03
04
05
06

Getting to net zero for cities and regions: understanding climate change adaptation

Date:Wednesday 7th October
Venue: Online
Cost:

Public perceptions of climate risk & adaptation in the context of COVID

Date:Thursday 8th October
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

09
10
11
12

Climate Injustice: transforming many small actions into a collective response

Date:Tuesday 13th October
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

The Carbon Trust Corporate Sustainability Summit 2020

Date:Wednesday 14th October
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

15

I AM GRETA

Date:Friday 16th October
Venue: Strand Arts Centre
Cost: £4 – £6

17
18
19

Urban Resilience in a Context of Climate Change

Date:Tuesday 20th October
Venue: Online
Cost:

21

UK higher education and net zero – the curriculum, collaboration, and sustainable estates and practices

Date:Thursday 22nd October
Venue: Online
Cost:

23
24

Reducing Carbon Usage Online Talk: XRNI with Jim Woods

Date:Sunday 25th October
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

26
27

Coastal Resilience to Flood and Erosion Hazard: a demonstration for England

Date:Wednesday 28th October
Venue: Online
Cost:

29
30
31

November

      
01
02

Enabling Biodiversity Net Gain in the Planning System

Date:Tuesday 3rd November
Venue: Online
Cost: Public Sector Rate: £389.00 Private Sector Rate: £575.00 Voluntary Sector Rate: £315.00

Time for citizen action on climate change? A webinar examining the work of the UK Climate Assembly.

Date:Tuesday 3rd November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

CLIMATE ASSEMBLY UK: PATH TO NET ZERO

Date:Wednesday 4th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

How can climate models help us respond to climate change?

Date:Thursday 5th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Suggested donation £10

Mainstreaming Culture and Heritage into Climate Planning

Date:Friday 6th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

07
08
09

Building a climate–resilient and just future for all

Date:Tuesday 10th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

The UN SDGs and climate change (Reading Climate Festival)

Date:Wednesday 11th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Financing a resilient future: Target setting for climate and nature

Date:Thursday 12th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Making the Case for Building Reuse through Better Metrics for Avoided, Operational and Embodied Carbon

Date:Friday 13th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

14

Climate ARTivism Talks

Date:Sunday 15th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

How To Talk About The Climate Crisis To Anyone

Date:Sunday 15th November
Venue: Online
Cost: £27.54

Climate Heritage Network General Assembly

Date:Monday 16th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Past Matters: Climate Emergency and Action

Date:Tuesday 17th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Britain Talks Climate: A toolkit for engaging the British public

Date:Wednesday 18th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States Regional Climate Heritage Forum

Date:Thursday 19th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Valuing Traditional Knowledge in Climate Action

Date:Friday 20th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Towards Net Zero Buildings & Infrastructure

Date:Friday 20th November
Venue: Online
Cost:

Heritage–based Adaptation and Mitigation | Documentary Film Premiere

Date:Saturday 21st November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

22
23
24
25

Climate Change Governance

Date:Thursday 26th November
Venue: Online
Cost:

Using Culture to Promote Climate Resilient Sustainable Development

Date:Friday 27th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Making it count: a year of UK leadership for climate and nature

Date:Friday 27th November
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

28
29
30
     

December

 
01
02
03
04
05
06
07

UK climate change adaptation – priorities, the strategic pathway to net zero emissions, and ambitions for COP26

Date:Tuesday 8th December
Venue: Online
Cost: £190 plus VAT

Building Back Better – a Future for Geothermal Energy in Northern Ireland

Date:Wednesday 9th December
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

Sixth Carbon Budget Launch – The Path To Net Zero

Date:Wednesday 9th December
Venue: Online
Cost: Free

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31